Top of Page
Skip main navigation

Alumni News and Notes

The KPCOM is proud to publish the recent accomplishments of its distinguished alumni.  

Diane Ede-Nichols, D.M.D., M.H.L., M.P.H. (’10), received the Public Service Award from the Florida Dental Association in June. She serves as professor and chair of community and public health sciences at NSU’s College Dental Medicine.

Sabine D. Elisee, D.O., M.P.H. (’11), published a book called The Healthy Whole Rx, which deals with connecting physical, spiritual, and cognitive health to achieve wholeness and maintain well-being. “This book incorporates the principals of Dr. Andrew Taylor Still in addressing physical, spiritual, and mental health.” Elisee said. “I am so grateful to my attendings and professors at the Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine for their teaching and dedication to training physicians like myself to treat people—not just symptoms.” 

Ryan Garbalosa, D.O., FACC (’09), was named chief of medicine for Prisma Health Tuomey Hospital in Sumter, South Carolina, although he continues to serve as the medical director of the cardiac rehabilitation and echocardiography departments at McLeod Clarendon Hospital. He was also named Best Cardiologist in Sumter County for 2020 in the annual Best of Sumter awards hosted by the Sumter Item.


Jeffrey S. Grove, D.O., FACOFP (’90), received the 2020 Osteopathic Family Physician of the Year Award from the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) on March 11. The award honors physicians who have made outstanding contributions to the osteopathic profession and local communities.


Shawn M. Iverson, D.O. (’11), a board-certified ophthalmologist, joined the faculty of the University of South Carolina/Prisma Health Medical Group residency program in Columbia, South Carolina. Iverson, who is fellowship trained in cornea, external disease and refractive surgery, specializes in complex cataract surgery, corneal transplants and glaucoma treatment.


Randy S. Katz, D.O., FACEP (’99), was appointed to the Statewide Task Force on Opioid Abuse by Florida Governor Ron DeSantis in February. The task force was established in 2019 to provide a coordinated and comprehensive statewide drug control and substance abuse prevention strategy. Members include mental health experts, law enforcement officers,and legislators, as well as experts in the fields of addiction, education and social services.


Will Kirby, D.O., FAOCD (’00), chief medical officer of LaserAway, was named as the health and beauty reporter for Life & Style magazine. In his new role, Kirby utilizes his expertise to educate the millennial demographic on celebrity skin, beauty and wellness.


Brad Lipson, D.O., FASPC (’05), a clinical lipidologist, was recognized as an obesity specialist by becoming a board-certified diplomate of the American Board of Obesity Medicine after passing his board exam in April. He also received a new certification in February—Certificate of Added Qualification in Headache Medicine—from the National Headache Foundation.


K Kay Moody, D.O., M.P.H., FACEP (’09), an emergency medicine physician in Olympia, Washington, was interviewed by both the ABC and CBS news outlets, as well as The New York Times and Forbes magazine, to discuss personal protective equipment related to COVID-19. Additionally, the EMDOCS Facebook group Moody established in 2013, which has more than 22,000 members, was the source of several national news reports when President Donald Trump’s son-in-law Jared Kushner solicited advice from the group, some of which became law.


Elizabeth Phung, D.O. (’13), medical director for the Beacham Center for Geriatric Medicine at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center (JHBMC) in Baltimore, Maryland, was accepted into the 2020–2021 Tideswell American Geriatrics Society Emerging Leaders in Aging Program. The national program is designed to develop future geriatric leaders by augmenting and leveraging their leadership skills in aging-related clinical, research, policy and educational initiatives. Phung’s clinical project “Improving the Preoperative Comprehensive Geriatric Surgical Pre-Op Assessment” is part of the JHBMC’s development of age-friendly health systems.


David Pizzimenti, D.O., FACOI (’02), was appointed to the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Board of Trustees. He is the first osteopathic physician to be appointed to the ABIM board in its 84-year history.


Ian D. Singer, D.O., J.D. (’19), a family medicine resident at Broward Health in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, was selected as 1 of 12 residents nationwide to serve on the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) Resident Council. The purpose of the Resident Council is to facilitate the relationship between Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education family medicine resident programs and the ACOFP. He was also named chair of the Resolutions Subcommittee to the Resident Council.


William Stager, D.O., M.S., M.P.H., FAAFP, FAAMA, FAAO, FACOFP dist. (’89), past president of the Florida Osteopathic Medical Association, was elected to the American Academy of Osteopathy Board of Trustees in March.


Richard R. Thacker, D.O., FACOI (’92), was named national adviser to Omega Beta Iota—a national osteopathic political advocacy honor society that emphasizes the importance of the work medical students do for the U.S. political system. He also serves on the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) Board of Trustees as vice chair of the Department of Educational Affairs and as the board liaison for the Advocates to the AOA. He is also the treasurer of the Osteopathic Political Action Committee—the political arm of the American Osteopathic Information Association.


Ross Zafonte, D.O. (’85), was named as the next editor in chief of the American Osteopathic Association’s (AOA) peer-reviewed Journal of the American Osteopathic Association (JAOA). The JAOA was established in September 1901 and is the premier scholarly publication of the osteopathic medical profession.


Do you have a compelling alumni story to share with the readers of COM Outlook? If you do, please contact Scott Colton at if you are intertested in being profiled in a future issue.

Return to top of page